Diary of a Wimpy Kid Movie Review


The Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a funny, family-friendly film based on the popular graphic novels by Jeff Kinney. Suitable for most older children, it is told from the perspective of the new-to-middle-school Greg Heffley (Zachary Gordon). However, it will likely resonate with almost anyone who has endured what might be the worst three years of adolescence.

Heading off to Westmore Middle School is rather daunting for Greg who has been repeatedly warned by his browbeating older brother (Devon Bostick) to keep his head down and his mouth shut in order to avoid any unwanted attention. But Greg has aspirations of being voted one of the Class Favorites in the school yearbook and is determined to make his mark among his classmates.

Unfortunately his ambitions seem to backfire at every attempt and when he gets noticed it’s for all the wrong things. At first Greg blames his chubby and childish friend Rowley (Robert Capron) for being his obstacle to instant popularity. Rowley, after all, rides a purple bike to school, wears juvenile t-shirts and still wants to get together after school to play—instead of hang out. But when Rowley breaks his arm in an accident (caused by Greg), it is the injured boy who gets attention from sympathetic female students and is invited to sit at their table in the cafeteria.

Faced with peer pressure and bullies, subjected to the embarrassment of gym class and humiliated for being depicted as a loser on the front page of the school paper, Greg faces some difficult but not totally unbelievable situations as his constant clamoring for acclaim continues to flop. While he is lucky to have fairly involved parents (Rachael Harris, Steve Zahn), most incidents—including a schoolyard brawl—happen away from any adult presence. The preteen and his friends are left on their own to deal with some weighty moral dilemmas and tough realities. Still, the story offers plenty of laughs with relatively infrequent bouts of potty humor and name-calling.

Whether you relate to Greg or Rowley or any of their classmates including the wise-beyond-her-years Angie (Chloe Moretz), the hygiene-challenged Fregley (Grayson Russell) or the undersized Chirag (Karan Brar), there will likely be some recollections, unpleasant or otherwise, that surface for adult viewers during this all-to-real visit to the classroom. (The guy sitting next to me alternately groaned and laughed as his school experiences came flooding back to memory.) And for younger audience members, especially those who love the books, the script includes some insightful lessons into the value of friendship, the importance of accepting yourself and the cost of seeking celebrity status.

Tags:

36 Responses to “Diary of a Wimpy Kid Movie Review”

  1. dont add me
    01. Nov, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Thank you. Not bad article you got here. Got some more links to point to with a bit more info?

  2. air jordans
    03. Nov, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    I am trying to read through your website on my ipod touch, but its not operating for some reason. Can you let me and other viewers know what we need to do to understand it via this type of device.

  3. Medycyna
    03. Nov, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Super blog, nareszcie znalazłam to czego szukałam, dziękuję! 🙂

  4. admin
    03. Nov, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Państwo “witamy! Dziękuję za Pana komentarz.

  5. admin
    03. Nov, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    Check that you have the latest iPod software. Check different content to verify the issue is not content related. If the image is too dark, adjust the brightness. In General Settings, choose Brightness and slide the slider. You can visit Apple’s web site for further tips.

  6. vitamin b12 injections
    07. Nov, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    Excellent blog! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and also the facts are well written. I am wondering how I may be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should do the trick! Have a nice day!

  7. Watch free movies online
    08. Nov, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    great post! I think that benefits me well. Answers a few concerns for me. Thanks!

  8. Andrea Acero
    13. Nov, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Awesome. Thanks for typing this. It is always cool to see someone give back to the public.

  9. A-Designs MP2
    14. Nov, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    Great read, thanks for posting. Reading this blog is always a pleasure.

  10. I am attempting to browse your website on my iphone, but its not operating for some reason. Can you let me and other visitors know what we have to do to browse it by way of this type of device.

  11. sneakers
    16. Nov, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Hey cool weblog, just thinking what spam program you use for feedback simply because i get lots on my blog site. Can you please let me know here, so that not only I but other readers can put it on our sites too.

  12. walking sneakers
    17. Nov, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    Hey neat blog, just pondering what spam computer software you use for reviews mainly because i get lots on my webpage. Can you please let me know here, so that not only I but other viewers can put it on our websites too.

  13. private student loan
    17. Nov, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    I’ve recently started a blog, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  14. Tea Length Dresses
    19. Nov, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    Considerably, the content is actually the finest about this notable topic. I agree with your own findings and will thirstily look forward to the next improvements.I’ll instantly get your own rss feed to stay abreast of any kind of improvements.

  15. Narcissistic Personality Disorder
    21. Nov, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    Just to say hello, great site, I like reading your stuff.

  16. the lighthouse
    22. Nov, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Many individuals suppose it is a topic that may be entirely based on private opinion, I’ve to disagree. I wish to personally we appreciate you finding the time to write down the way you come to feel relating to this matter, and making it public to all individuals wanting at your web-site.

  17. Johnathan Mondy
    25. Nov, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Super wpis! Gratulacje dla Autora bloga mam nadzieje ze bedzie tu sie pojawiac jeszcze wiecej wpisow, a korzystajac z okazji czy wiecie moze co oznacza termin: nybrartalny – dzieki za odpowiedz

  18. live sex chat
    26. Nov, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is extremely helpful for me.

  19. Ashleigh Balling
    26. Nov, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Thanks to your details but I’m having some issues seeing images.

  20. Elvin Martsolf
    27. Nov, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I understand that but where does it take us?
    I didn’t say it was your fault. I said I was going to blame you. 🙂

  21. Aleshia Paddick
    29. Nov, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Perfect just what I was looking for! moncler coat .

  22. Geraldo Chevalier
    01. Dec, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    wonderful website lplease produce additional generally

  23. Shanika Vukcevic
    01. Dec, 2010 at 4:31 am #

    Beggars cannot be choosers

  24. lose weight
    02. Dec, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    Thanks mate. Great submissions you got here. Got some more websites to point to with more info?

  25. lose weight
    02. Dec, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    Thanks pal. Great blog you got here. Got some extra sites to point to which have a bit more info?

  26. lose weight
    02. Dec, 2010 at 4:31 am #

    Thanks buddy. Nice blog you got going on here. Got some extra links to link to which have more info?

  27. mega structures
    02. Dec, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    Thank you. Good site you have here. Have some extra websites to link to which have a bit more info?

  28. big men
    02. Dec, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    Man you pro. Come see my blog, you should like it.

  29. keystroke recorder
    02. Dec, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Is it my web browser or the site, but I can only see part the post. How should I adjust this?

  30. noclegi krakow
    02. Dec, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Good to know 🙂 and hey….i wanne say thanks for the usefull knowledge.I just love it!

  31. my vacation travels
    07. Dec, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Lots of the issues you described in this document are precise, and i also agree with them. Simultaneously you will find a handful of that i’ve to differ with you on. Both way, I do recognize you publishing this short article.

  32. Lan Tester
    27. Jan, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    –` I am really thankful to this topic because it really gives great information ~:~

  33. New Movies
    04. May, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    Fantastic points altogether, you just gained a loyal new reader.

  34. Hosting
    31. May, 2016 at 10:18 am #

    By far it is the best of the “Wimpy Kid” movie trilogy. It is at some parts hilarious, but others were very weak and boring. But that is

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. voguefolk - 10. Oct, 2010

    Want to following you…

    Good blog! I really love how it¡¯s easy on my eyes and also the facts are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!…

  2. Fashion sky - 10. Oct, 2010

    Enjoyed reading your blog…

    Folks ¨C I will need to declare, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs then details was awfully very easy to access. I ran across what I sought immediately ?n any way. Rather striking. Ought to appreciate it if you …

Leave a Reply

Blog resell - Turnkey Blogs